Menu Close

4Wards Community Council Petition Submitted

The 4Wards Community Council Campaign steering group has issued the following press release:-

On Thursday 29th October members of the 4Wards Community Council Campaign team met with Steven Halls, Chief Executive of Three Rivers District Council, to submit a petition to create a Community Council (the equivalent of a Parish Council) for the four unparished wards of Three Rivers District which includes Moor Park & Eastbury, Rickmansworth Town, Penn & Mill End and the Maple Cross, Heronsgate and West Hyde parts of Chorleywood South. 

The campaign, which has been running for over a year and half, managed to secure the support of over 1800 residents in the four wards or approximately 11% of the electorate. The campaign team is comprised of local residents and is supported by the residents associations in Moor Park, Eastbury and Rickmansworth, as well as the Hertfordshire Association of Parish Town Councils and the National Association of Local Councils.

The campaign Chairman, Miles Hosking, commented: “We are very grateful for the fantastic support given to us by local residents throughout the campaign. We passionately feel that a Community Council will give us a much bigger say in what happens in our local community and will bring us into line with all the other areas in Three Rivers District who already have a Parish Council to represent them.

Three Rivers District Council will now undertake a Governance Review to establish whether a Community Council should be set up. This can take up to a year and is likely to include consultation with the electorate, which may include a referendum, before the Council decides whether a local council can be established.


From left to right Tony Brayford – Moor Park RA, Miles Hosking, Steven Halls, Nina Hosking – Rickmansworth Chamber of Commerce, Carina Helmn – Hertfordshire Association of Parish and Town Councils